top of page

The Seven Spirits Before The Throne of God - The Spirit of the Lord


In my last blog I shared how the Holy Spirit is walking me through the book of Revelation in the bible. In Revelation 1:4 the angel of the Lord mentions, "and from the seven Spirits who are before His throne". I began to wonder what are the seven Spirits before the throne of God. I was led to Isaiah 11:2 which lists the seven Spirits including the Spirit of the Lord.


I thought about Isaiah 11:2 for several days and this is what I believe. The first Spirit listed in Isaiah 11:2 is the Spirit of the Lord also known as the Holy Spirit and the Spirit of Truth.


In John 14:16 the bible says, "I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may be with you forever; that is the Spirit of Truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it does not see Him or know Him, but you know Him because He abides with you and will be in you." Jesus says, "but you know Him because He abides with you and will be in you." The Spirit of Truth reveals God to us and in us; the truth of who He is, His ways and His thoughts. If we want to "know" God or have the mind of God, this can only be done by the Spirit of the Lord. Only when the Spirit of the Lord reveals to us and in us who God is, then we will know His thoughts.


1 Corinthians 2:10-11 says, "For to us God revealed them through the Spirit; for the Spirit searches all things, even the depths of God. For who among men knows the thoughts of a man except the spirit of the man which is in him? Even so the thoughts of God no one knows except the Spirit of God."


My husband and I have been married for 23 years. We are truly "one flesh" the longer we are married. My children are amazed because our relationship has grown to the point that we finish each other's sentences or we will know what the other is thinking without saying a word. To know what God is thinking or to finish His sentences, can only come by the Spirit of the Lord. How do we know what God is thinking or saying? John 14:26 says, "But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all that I said to you." The Holy Spirit will tell us.


Before I accepted Jesus Christ as my personal Lord and Savior, there were a series of events that now looking back, I realize the Holy Spirit was trying to reveal the truth of God to me. One example, my sister-in-law, asked me several times to visit her church. I would tell her that I would visit one day. But there were so many distractions that it was not until I became desperate for my life to change that I remembered her many offers and decided to visit. I ended up surrendering to the Holy Spirit and gave my life to Jesus Christ. That was the best decision I have ever made. In Him I live, move and have my being. Jesus is the author and finisher of my faith and His Spirit continues to lead me into all truth. Do you know God? Do you know the mind of God? Is the Spirit of the Lord trying to get your attention? If you have allowed the Spirit of the Lord to lead you into all truth...what is He telling you?


John 16:13 - 15 says, "But when He, the Spirit of Truth, comes, He will guide you into all the truth; for He will not speak on His own initiative, but whatever He hears, He will speak; and He will disclose to you what is to come. He will glorify Me, for He will take of Mine and will disclose it to you. All things that the Father has are Mine; therefore I said that He takes of Mine and will disclose it to you."

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • c-youtube
  • LinkedIn App Icon
  • Instagram App Icon
  • NewReverb.png
bottom of page