top of page

The Seven Spirits Before The Throne of God - The Spirit of Counsel


Recently my husband who is a senior manager for a leading financial services company was contacted by a competitor. The competitor is expanding their Phoenix, Arizona campus and asked my husband to be a senior leader for the Phoenix location. The competitor made the offer package extremely attractive causing my husband and I to give the offer great consideration.


My husband and I sought the Lord asking for the Spirit of Counsel. The Spirit of Counsel provides instruction and guidance on how to glorify God and fulfill the plan and purpose for our lives. God said in Jeremiah 29:11, "'For I know the plans I have for you,' declares the LORD, 'plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.'"


To walk in the plans God has for us, we need the Spirit of Counsel. John 16:13 says the Spirit will guide us into all truth and tell us of things yet to come. During this time God began to give us great insight into the lives of those who were faced with a similiar decision. As a result, their desire for more money and power has destroyed their family. Mark 8:36 says, "For what shall it profit a man, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul?" When do you have enough money and enough power? Selah


The Spirit of Counsel showed my husband and I the only reason we were considering the offer; it was a promotion financially. He spoke to our hearts and we realized that more money was not a reason to accept the offer. So my husband gracefully declined. To our surprise the competitor requested an opportunity to come back with a better offer. Yet in still we declined.


What decisions are you faced with and are you seeking the Spirit of Counsel for guidance and instruction?



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • c-youtube
  • LinkedIn App Icon
  • Instagram App Icon
  • NewReverb.png
bottom of page