top of page

The Seven Spirits Before The Throne of God - The Spirit of Wisdom


Several key events have taken place over the last couple of days that may leave one asking, is the Second Coming of Jesus Christ near?


It was announced the Prime Minister of Israel Benjamin Netanyahu plans to meet with the U.S. Congress in March to discuss additional sanctions against Iran. President Obama has made it very clear he will not meet with the Prime Minister while he is visiting the U.S.


At the same time, U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry met with Iran's Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif regarding new sanctions against Iran and the consequences that could lead to a collapse of negotiations over Tehran's controversial nuclear program.


Yet within the same week, the Yemen President Abdo Rabbo Mansour Hadi, resigned Thursday, January 22, along with his cabinet. President Hadi is known to be an ally of the U.S. even though the Yemen territory is said to be al-Qaida’s most dangerous offshoot.


Finally, Saudi Arabia's King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al Saud died at the age of 90. Under King Abdullah's leadership, Saudi Arabia captured or killed many al Qaeda leaders and became the lead Arab nation in a U.S.-led coalition to eradicate ISIS in Iraq and Syria.


These are pretty obvious signs to me but what does it all mean? As I stated previously the Holy Spirit has been guiding me through the Book of Revelation, specifically the Seven Spirits Before The Throne of God. In my last blog I discussed the Spirit of Truth. I stated the Spirit of Truth reveals God to us and in us; the truth of who He is, His ways and His thoughts. I supported my statement with John 14:16, 1 Corinithians 2:10 - 11 and John 16:13 - 15.


Isaiah 11:2 says, "The Spirit of the Lord will rest on Him, The spirit of wisdom and understanding, The spirit of counsel and strength, The spirit of knowledge and the fear of the Lord. Now I would like to discuss the Spirit of Wisdom.


In Proverbs 4:7 it says, "Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding." Wisdom is the application of knowledge. The Spirit of Wisdom gives us the ability to apply the Word of God to our lives. Even though we are in this world, we are not of this world. We are here for a set time until the Lord's second coming. The trump will blow and the Lord will descend from heaven with a shout. The dead in Christ will be the first to rise and we (Christians) who remain will be caught up with Him to live in the Holy City, New Jerusalem. Because we are not of this world, we have to function differently than the world. The world belongs to satan. 2 Corinthians 4:4 says, "In whom the god of this world hath blinded the minds of them which not, lest the light of the glorious gospel of Christ who is the image of God, should shine unto them." The god of this world is satan and the truth is not in him. Those who are controlled by satan and follow him are not children of light and are being deceived. We as Christians do not want to fall trap to the evil one's devices. We need to study and hide God's Word in our hearts and ask the Spirit of Wisdom to help us apply that Word to our lives. John17:14 - 15 says, "I have given them Your Word; and the world has hated them, because they are not of the world, even as I am not of the world. I do not ask You to take them out of the world, but to keep them from the evil one."


The Spirit of Wisdom will also give us great insight. Someone once said, the Spirit of Wisdom gives us dominion over ignorance. When someone is ignorant, they have not been taught. The Spirit of Wisdom will allow us to have dominion or authority over things we have not been taught. Something that was not learned in a book written by man but shared straight from the throneroom of God. When Paul wrote to the church of Ephesus, he said in Ephesians 1:17, "That the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give unto you the spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of him." Jeremiah 33:3 says, "Call unto me and I will show you great and mighty things." Another translation says, "hidden things." I want to to be able to see the hidden things of God. I want to understand the mysteries of God and be prepared for the Second Coming of Jesus Christ.


Have you ever read something in the bible and you didn't understand? Later a light bulb goes off and you think, "Now I understand"? That is the Spirit of Widsom revealing something that was always there but just hidden to you. I remember back in the 70's, we attended Second Baptist Church of Wheaton, in Wheaton, Illinois. One Sunday evening they showed a movie entitled, "A Thief In The Night". That movie scared me so bad, I went home and tried to read the bible. I remember being discouraged because I did not understand what I was reading. Fast forward 20 years later when I accept Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior. I would try to read the bible and there were many things I just did not understand. I even remember being amazed at my husband. We were babes in Christ for just a couple of weeks and someone at our church began a conversation about the bible. My husband began to quote scriptures from the New Testament and explained his favorite character was Paul and the reason why. I thought to myself, "How is he able to learn and understand the bible so quickly and I'm still struggling." I do not claim to know the entire bible but when I don't understand something, I will ask the Spirit to show me the meaning and how the Word is applicable to my life. Before you know it, my pastor will preach on the very thing I have been asking God about or someone will bring it up in a conversation and I will say, "I was just reading the same scripture" and we will begin to discuss.


So back to the beginning of my blog, I asked what does all of the chaos in the middle-east represent? In Matthew 24, the disciples asked Jesus what will be the sign of His coming and the end of the world. Jesus answered in Matthew 24:4 - 14, "See to it that no one misleads you. For many will come in My name, saying, ‘I am the Christ,’ and will mislead many. You will be hearing of wars and rumors of wars. See that you are not frightened, for those things must take place, but that is not yet the end. For nation will rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom, and in various places there will be famines and earthquakes. But all these things are merely the beginning of birth pains. “Then they will deliver you to tribulation, and will kill you, and you will be hated by all nations because of My name. At that time many will fall away and will betray one another and hate one another. Many false prophets will arise and will mislead many. Because lawlessness is increased, most people’s love will grow cold. But the one who endures to the end, he will be saved. This gospel of the kingdom shall be preached in the whole world as a testimony to all the nations, and then the end will come."


We are living in an age or wars and rumors of wars, kingdom against kingdom, famine and earthquakes in various places. But Jesus said these are just the birth pains. It is during the tribulation when many will fall away. If we are not already in the tribulation period we are close. Daniel and John in the book of Revelation both talk about a beast (antichrist) that will rise from the sea and the dragon (satan) will give power to the antichrist. The antichrist will utter great boasts and he will be larger in appearance than its associates. (Daniel 7:20) Revelation 13:4 - 5 says, "they worshiped the dragon because he gave his authority to the beast; and they worshiped the beast, saying, 'Who is like the beast, and who is able to wage war with him?' There was given to him a mouth speaking arrogant words and blasphemies, and authority to act for forty-two months was given to him."


The antichrist will come to power over time and he will take the world stage because he will negotiate a treaty with Israel. (Daniel 11:21) The Jews will worship the antichrist and believe that he is the Messaih. (Revelation 13:8) They will rebuild the temple and offer sacrifices to the antichrist. Midway of fulfilling the peace treaty, the antichrist will desocrate the temple and reveal who he truly is. Daniel 9:27 says, "And he will make a firm covenant with the many for one week, but in the middle of the week he will put a stop to sacrifice and grain offering; and on the wing of abominations will come one who makes desolate, even until a complete destruction, one that is decreed, is poured out on the one who makes desolate.”


We need more than ever the Spirit of Wisdom. The bible says in James 1:5, "If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you." Will you ask for wisdom now and allow the Spirit of Wisdom to help you apply it to your life?



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • c-youtube
  • LinkedIn App Icon
  • Instagram App Icon
  • NewReverb.png
bottom of page